A week after I paid fifteen thousand dollars owed on the car awarded in my divorce settlement, I totaled the car after losing control on a sharp curve while driving intoxicated.

In the numbing aftermath of my DUI arrest, and the loss of my new car, acute anxiety stimulated my rapid heartbeat. Yet, the final blow came when the insurance adjuster informed me that my former husband, two days prior, had canceled coverage on the vehicle.

Unfortunately, a close friend’s conclusion she had made years earlier remains undeniable. She said, “I’ve never met anyone with worse luck than you.” But, admittedly, knowing I’m a hazard to myself, I suspect the cause of the chronic tsuris that blankets my eyes is far more complex than luck.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.