My life became void of routine and responsibility, three years ago, after early retirement. Often, I stay awake at night and sleep during the day, eat breakfast at three in the afternoon and dinner at midnight. Most often, I do not know the day of the week or the time of day, what useful purpose would I have for such knowledge?

Having developed a dire need to keep myself occupied, the idea of taking a moment to breathe is contrary to my current constitution. There is always something to do even if that something is cleaning the floor cleaned yesterday.

Consistently, my thoughts will turn to matters of the heart if I sit still too long, causing my emotions to become chaotic and depressive. Thereafter, my sense of self becomes depleted and hungers for the conversation and companionship that was lost after moving away from my hometown.

Unfortunately, Merced is not conducive to forming friendships. Believing in the idiom, “Birds of a feather flock together,” I am a rare bird.

3 thoughts on “Without the Way, There is no Going

  1. I would say write – books, perhaps about your life, poetry. But I’m a writer, so I would say to write. I will write through my own retirement one day, I hope. But I don’t know what you would prefer or what your passions could be, but some kind of art form, I would say. My family has a few artists – maybe paint some. I’m a singer, too. Maybe you can learn an instrument? I would suggest getting into yoga, too, if you’re not already. It’s never too late to start and does wonders! I myself love to sit outside in nature. I’m just listing off a bunch of suggestions I might take in the case that I wanted to keep myself occupied, so take with a grain of salt! I hope you have a good day.

    Like

    1. Thank you for leaving your comment. There is not another means to free oneself of boredom than writing. In fact, the reason I started this blog was to create a space to write. Unbeknownst to me was people read blogs. My Categorized Life’s category remains empty because I haven’t the courage to expose that part of myself, I am working on the fear of being judged for events that need to be categorized once and for all. Creativity is my middle name, the meme for this blog post, I created myself along with the meme I posted moments ago. Again, thank you for your concern, I do appreciate the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome, Cynthia 🙂 I’m glad to meet someone who loves to write. Often I find younger generations don’t, and I hope that goes away. I think writing is so important no matter who you are! I also love to read, though, so they go hand in hand. You’re at least bold for goal setting to write in your category of “My Categorized Life.” I couldn’t begin to write something about my life in a categorized fashion! lol my blog and poems and etc. are all over the place! Keep writing and enjoy your evening 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

