Today is my birthday as with each birthday people wish me happiness with the advice to make the day a “good one.”

Two years ago, this day was no longer all about my birthday. My birthday became the day my children’s paternal grandma passed away. Now I learned my dear friend, Blake, passed away last week after suffering for years from many physical ailments. Blake’s friendship was of exception for he was an exceptional person. To me, though painful, I think his death is a blessing. 

Each year, when the calendar reads February, I will remember what I find more important than the coming of my birthday, my dear friend, and grandma who will remain in my heart until the day it beats no longer.

Note: The photograph used for this post is of Blake with my now twenty-seven-year-old son, Jacob.

3 thoughts on “Make the Day a Good One

Leave a Reply

